

Board of Commissioners Special Meeting March 12, 2024 Minutes

The Three Rivers Hospital Board of Commissioners called a special meeting to order at 10:30 a.m. Tuesday, March 12, 2024 in the McKinley Building Conference Room at 507 Hospital Way, Brewster WA 98812 and virtually via the Microsoft Teams platform. The presiding officer was Mike Pruett, Board Chairman.

A quorum was present, including:

Mike Pruett, Board Chairman Cherri Thomas, Vice Chair Leslie McNamara, Secretary Tracy Shrable, Member David Garcia, Member

Others present:

J. Scott Graham, Chief Executive Officer Jamie Boyer, COO/Clinic Manager Tina Smith, Chief Nursing Officer Jennifer Munson, Chief Financial Officer Shauna Field, Administrative Assistant Jeremy Vandelac, Ancillary Services Director Rosie Hartmann, Revenue Cycle Director German Meza, Quality Director Mike Oberg, Informatics RN Dr. Ty Witt, Chief Medical Officer Anita Fisk, HR Director Rob Wylie, Facilities Manager Daniel Dinjian, Environmental Services Manager Michelle Welton, OR Manager Jennifer Bach, Accounting Controller Rosie Poole, Material Manager Zac Allison, Radiology Manager

## Vision, Mission & Values

All took turns reading the vision, mission, and values statements.

## **New Building Discussion**

Action Item: Architect Design Costs – Theorem Architecture Group, PLLC, submitted their quote and proposal for revised building designs. The total cost will be \$34,000, broken up into 6 different steps to be billed as each step is completed. They will be developing new site plans and a cost estimate focused on reducing the scope and cost of the project. The previous design was influenced by our cost report, so they will try to trim costs in a way that won't hurt our

## **Three Rivers Hospital**



Board of Commissioners Special Meeting March 12, 2024 Minutes

reimbursements. A motion was made by L. McNamara to authorize the quote; seconded by C. Thomas. Motion carried.

The board and leadership discussed how to respond and engage with the Okanogan Healthcare Planning Group, a group from the Methow who opposes the new building proposal and would like to see a different model of healthcare in the region. The group sent a letter to us as well as the CEOs of Mid Valley Hospital and North Valley Hospital stating they cannot support our new building bond initiative at this time because they feel there are better uses of taxpayer dollars to optimize healthcare with a county-wide solution and collaboration.

M. Pruett, L. McNamara, S. Graham, and J. Munson will be attending a meeting with David Clement, Peter Morgan, and Peter Bauer on Friday, March 15 to further discuss the group's ideas and concerns, as well as provide education and clarification on how the hospital operates, the critical access hospital designation, and reimbursement models. The hospitals serve a large rural county and people in the remote areas need the same healthcare that people living in town receive. Vulnerable and underserved populations in our communities and their access to care needs to be considered most of all. Clarification is needed on whether this group wants to see collaboration or consolidation, as these are very different things. Concerns were also discussed about the lack of diversity in this group and the need to have more representation from other areas of the county. L. McNamara emphasized that even if the healthcare model in the county were to change, we would still need a new building to continue providing services.

S. Graham has met with the CEOs of the other hospitals to discuss future collaboration, but each hospital is in a very different place in terms of finances and strategy.

Dr. Witt advised that we need a vocal group in support of the new building to counter the opposition and to focus the majority of our efforts on education, outreach, and communication with our community and voters. The focus should be on what our community feels is best for the entire district, not just one demographic.

## <u>Adjournment</u>

David Garcia, Board Member

| A motion was made by L. McNamara to adjourn the meeting at 11:22 a.m.; seconded by C. Thomas. Motion carried. |                                 |
|---|---------------------------------|
| Mike Pruett, Board Chair  | Cherri Thomas, Board Vice Chair |
| Leslie McNamara, Board Secretary  | Tracy Shrable, Board Member     |